PSB Symposium “Macromolecules in action”

QUICK INFORMATION
Type
Symposium
Start Date
04-07-2019 09:00
End Date
05-07-2019 17:00
Add event to calendar
iCal | vCal

PSB-Logopsben.jpg

PSB symposium

Macromolecules in action

4-5 July, 2019, EPN campus, France

 

After the success of its first symposium on cryo-EM in 2017, the Partnership for Structural Biology (PSB) is pleased to announce a second symposium on "Macromolecules in action " which will take place on 4-5 July 2019 on the EPN campus, Grenoble, France.

Since its inception, structural biology has sought more detail at ever-improved resolutions. Methodological developments have since allowed structural analyses of macromolecular assemblies of increasing size and complexity. However, in order to fully understand the mechanistics and dynamics of complex cellular machineries, it is of crucial importance to place these interdisciplinary results  in an appropriate biological context using information from all resolution levels - from atomic detail to cellular and higher levels of organisation.

The aim of this meeting is to illustrate how the big biological questions are resolved by combining key methods in structural biology  (eg X-ray and neutron crystallography, cryo-EM, NMR and small angle scattering - SAXS and SANS) with other complementary approaches, enhancing our understanding of the dynamic behaviour of macromolecular complexes in the cell.

 

Scientific contacts

Florent Bernaudat (ESRF): florent.bernaudat@esrf.fr

Eaazhisai Kandiah (ESRF): eaazhisai.kandiah@esrf.fr

Michael Haertlein (ILL): haertlein@ill.fr

Marc Jamin (IBS): marc.jamin@ibs.fr

Eva Kowalinski (EMBL): kowalinski@embl.fr

Coordinator contacts

Deborah Davison (ESRF): deborah.davison@esrf.fr

Alison Mader (ILL): mader@ill.fr

Elena Slanickova (IBS): elena.slanickova@ibs.fr